dianajhale

Having written last time about the British Library Writing Britain exhibition of writers interpreting place and landscape, I was consciously thinking about this while painting this week. The rather provocative second part of my title (given a lot of those who read my blog are writers!) refers to a slightly different but related aspect of representation and how it works, which I leave in the air.

The marshes above are painted somewhere I know well and that means a lot to me, with associations personal and literary in fact. However it could be anywhere. There are no distinguishing features or combination of features to locate it in a particular place. As I wrote a month or so ago on a guest post on Under a Grey Sky this is very much what I am aiming for in my painting. One advantage of this may be to make them appeal to more people – anyone who likes this…

View original post 217 more words

By photos4share

Leave a Reply

